Athletics News

SMU Announces 2013 Athletics Hall Of Fame Class

Go smu!
Go smu!

Go smu!

Feb. 27, 2013

DALLAS (SMU) - The SMU Athletic Department, in conjunction with the SMU Lettermen's Association, has announced the newest class of the SMU Athletics Hall of Fame. The 2013 inductees - Cash Birdwell, Russell Carter, Lars Frölander, Lance McIlhenny, Rick Herrscher and the late Earl Stewart - will be honored at a dinner and induction ceremony on Friday, May 3, at the Hilton Anatole.

A brief listing of the class and their accomplishments:

Birdwell worked in SMU's athletic training department in 1968 and then 1973-2005, and won College Athletic Trainer of the Year in 1978. He entered the Southwest Athletic Trainers Hall of Fame in 1986 and the National Athletic Trainers Hall of Fame in 1990. Birdwell also won the Frank Medina Award in 1985 for his outstanding service to the athletic training community. Birdwell served as a trainer for the Los Angeles Rams of the NFL from 1969-72 and made an appearance as a trainer in the Pro Bowl in 1970.

Carter is being inducted for being a track and field standout for SMU from 1980-83. He was a crucial element on the 1983 NCAA Indoor and Outdoor National Championship teams, and was an All-American on the indoor mile relay team and the outdoor 1600 meter relay team in 1983. Carter also played football at SMU, winning NCAA-recognized National Championships in 1981 and 1982 with the Mustangs. Carter was a three-time All-SWC honoree in football, and an All-American in 1983. Carter was drafted in the first round (10th overall) of the 1984 NFL Draft by the New York Jets.

One of the great swimmers in SMU history, Frölander dominated the pool during his career as a Mustang (1995-98). Frölander was the 1998 NCAA Swimmer of the Year, winning the NCAA Championship in two events - the 100 meter freestyle and 100 meter butterfly. Frölander won the same pair of championships in 1997 and the 100 Butterfly as a freshman in 1995. Frölander also participated in six Olympic Games (1992, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012), representing his native Sweden. Frölander took the gold medal in 100 Butterfly in the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, and also took silver medals in the 4x200 free relay in 1992 (Barcelona) and 1996 (Atlanta).

Herrscher is one of the most decorated basketball players to ever hit the hardwood at SMU. The St. Louis native was a key cog on the 1956 NCAA Final Four team. Herrscher also earned All-SWC First Team honors in the 1956-57 and 1957-58 seasons and was SWC Player of the Year in 1957-58, averaging 17.5 points and 7.4 rebounds per game. Herrscher also spent one season (1962) as an infielder for the New York Mets.

McIlhenny finished his career at SMU (1980-83) as the most successful quarterback in the history of the SWC, posting a career record of 34-5-1. McIlhenny paced the Mustangs to two NCAA-recognized National Championships and two SWC Championships (1981, 1982), and was a three-time All-SWC honoree. His 34 wins are still the most in SMU and SWC history. McIlhenny also led the SWC in passing efficiency in 1982 with a rating of 133.0.

Stewart was the women's golf coach at SMU from 1975-87, guiding the Mustangs to an AIAW National Championship in 1979. He also coached the team that won the SWC Championship in 1986. Six All-Americans played under Stewart's guidance, including National Champions Kyle O'Brien Stevens (1979) and Amy Benz (1982). The National Golf Coaches Association Coaches Hall of Fame honored Stewart in 1987. Stewart was also the men's golf coach from 1975-80.

The dinner and induction ceremony will take place on Friday, May 3, at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas at 7 p.m. Tickets are available for $200 and tables of 10 are available for $1,500. To purchase, call (214) 768-4314, contact the SMU Lettermen's Association at (214) 768-4000, or visit

Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.