Women's Cross Country

SMU Wins The Inaugural American Athletic Conference Championship

Go smu! SMU Captured The Inaugural American Athletic Conference Title
Go smu!
SMU Captured The Inaugural American Athletic Conference Title
Go smu!

Nov. 2, 2013

Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

MADISON, Conn. (SMU) -- The SMU cross country team placed first and captured the inaugural American Athletic Conference Championship on Saturday, Nov. 2 in Madison, Conn. The championship was the fifth in the last six years (2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013) and third straight for the Mustangs. The previous four conference titles came in Conference USA. SMU had six runners earn all-conference honors and finished as the team finished with 29 points beating second-place Louisville by 32 points. Rounding out the top five was UConn, UCF and Rutgers.

Head Coach Cathy Casey earned Coach of the Year honors, garnering her fifth accolade since her arrival to the Hilltop.

"The girls all ran well today," Casey said. "Louisville ran well and really challenged us, but our girls just wanted it more."

In addition to the six Ponies who earned All-Conference distinction, five of them placed in the top ten.

Freshmen Tova Magnusson and Agnes Sjöström crossed the line in the top five, with Magnusson's time of 20:23.16 good for second and Sjöström's 20:33.70 good for fourth. Sophomore Melanie Stemper placed sixth in 20:43.91, with classmate Karoline Skatteboe close behind in seventh in 20:49.46. Senior Caitlin Keen and sophomore Holly Archer were the final all-conference honorees for SMU, taking 10th in 21:03.84 and 11th in 21:04.19, respectively.

"Tova was very impressive," Casey said. "For this being her second ever 6K race, I could not be more proud."

Also competing for the Mustangs, sophomore Shanoah Souza finished just outside the top 15 as she crossed the finish line with a time of 21:21.80 in 16th place. Freshmen Anna Nelson and Julie Vanderhout finished in 46th (23:14.88) and 50th (23:31.04), respectively.

SMU is back in action on Saturday, November 16 at the South Central Regional Championship hosted by Baylor in Waco, Texas.

Team Results
1. SMU (29)
2. Louisville (61)
3. UConn (79)
4. UCF (142)
5. Rutgers (150)
6. USF (165)
7. Memphis (173)
8. Temple (203)
9. Houston (225)
10. Cincinnati (231)

1. Anne-Marie Blaney, UCF, So.
2. Tova Magnusson, SMU, Fr.
3. Emily Durgin, UConn, So.
4. Agnes Sjöström, SMU, Fr.
5. Benadate Cheruiyot, Louisville, Fr.
6. Melanie Stemper, SMU, So.
7. Karoline Skatteboe, SMU, So.
8. Brigitte Mania, UConn, Sr.
9. Michelle Molodynia, Louisville, Jr.
10. Caitlin Keen, SMU, Sr.
11. Holly Archer, SMU, So.
12. Adair Gennocro, Louisville, Fr.
13. Agnes Chepchumba, Louisville, Fr.
14. Abby Mace, UConn, So.
15. Martina Rodriguez, Memphis, Fr.



Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.