Mustangs Compete In Intrasquad Meet, Prepare For Start Of Season

Go smu! Head Coach Steve Collins
Go smu!
Head Coach Steve Collins
Go smu!

Sept. 30, 2013

DALLAS (SMU) - In preparation for its 2013-14 season, the SMU women's swimming and diving team held its annual intrasquad meet over the weekend.

2012-13 All-Americans Monika Babok and Isabella Arcila led the blue team to a 388-352 victory over the red squad, which included All-Americans Nina Rangelova and Nathalie Lindborg.

"The intrasquad meet was a good opportunity four our team to race, practice relay starts and do some team building," Head Coach Steve Collins said.

Arcila, a junior, and seniors Babok and Lexi Farrar won the 3x50-yard breaststroke in a time of 1:13.15, while junior Rachel Nicol and seniors Deanna Matthews and Jordan Newman swept the 3x100-yard (3:21.61) and 3x50-yard (1:33.54) breaststroke relays.

Farrar, senior Rachel Balke and sophomore Caitlin Gutschenritter also swept the 3x50-yard (1:27.36) and 3x100-yard (3:10.10) backstroke relays. In the final event of the night, Nicol, Balke, Newman and Arcila won the 4x100-yard IM relay in a time of 4:10.14.

The red squad swept the butterfly relays, as Lindborg, a junior, and seniors Rangelova and Alice McCall finished the 3x100-yard in a time of 2:53.94, and junior Nicole Parmenter, sophomore Elizabeth Krane and McCall clocked in at 1:19.52 in the 3x50-yard.



Freshmen Margaret Lindsay and Lauren Lamb squared off in both the one-meter and three-meter diving events, and look to lead the team in those events this season.

The UNT Relays are scheduled for Friday at 5:30 p.m. CT in Southlake, Texas. Following the meet, the Mustangs have a week off and return to Perkins Natatorium Sept. 18-19 for the SMU Classic.

"The relay next week will give us the opportunity to practice our relay techniques with SEC, C-USA and American Athletic Conference teams," Collins said. "Relays are a vital part of our team success and any competition involving relays is important."

SMU finished the 2012-13 season at the NCAA Championship and tied for 24th.