Women's Swimming

Mustangs Finish Season With Team Banquet

Go smu!
Go smu!

Go smu!

March 28, 2014

DALLAS (SMU) - Head Coach Steve Collins, along with Head Diving Coach Jim Stillson and assistant Caroline Wells, presented student-athletes of the SMU women's swimming and diving team with specialty awards at the 2014 banquet on Friday evening.

The night kicked off as Stillson recognized members of the Athletic Director's Honor Roll from a team that combined for a 3.32 grade point average and was named a 2014 Academic All-America Team. Honorees included Isabella Arcila, Rachel Balke, Ursa Bezan, Samantha Butz, Lexi Farrar, Caitlin Gutschenritter, Brooke Jensen, Elizabeth Krane, Lauren Lamb, Eleonor Lindborg, Nathalie Lindborg, Jordan Newman, Nicole Parmenter, Rachel Nicol, Nina Rangelova, Natalie Schauwecker and Anna Volchkov.

Collins next highlighted the Mustangs' accomplished as a member of the new American Athletic Conference, as well as those student-athletes who participated in the 2014 NCAA Championship. SMU saw nine swimmers named to the inaugural all-conference team including Arcila, Bezan, Babok Nathalie Lindborg, Nicol, Rangelova, Marne Erasmus, Tara-Lynn Nicholas and Kirsty McLauchlan. The Ponies combined for 16 top-three finishes at The American Championship.

At the NCAA Championship, SMU picked up six All-America honors. Erasmus led the Mustangs with a pair of accolades after finishing third and setting a school record in the 100-yard butterfly, while fellow freshman Nicholas earned her honors in the 100-yard breaststroke. Nicholas also recorded a school record time in the preliminaries, which is the only SMU standard in the event under one minute. Erasmus, Arcila, Nicol and Rangelova finished 11th in the 400-yard medley relay to also earn honors.

The first specialty award of the night went to Volchkov, who was awarded the Mustangs' perseverance award for her dedication and hard work. Diver Lauren Lamb was named the program's most improved for her work this year, and All-Americans Erasmus and Nicholas were named Newcomers of the Year.  

The Mustang award is given out to the student-athlete who best exemplifies perseverance, dedication, enthusiasm and leadership. The SMU coaching staff honored Nicol with the award for the 2013-14 season.

Seniors Babok, Balke, Lexi Farrar, Deanna Matthews, Alice McCall, Newman and Rangelova helped lead a team that's 2013-14 season was capped off by a second place finish at the inaugural American Championship and a 20th-place finish at the NCAA Championship.

The evening finished out with the recognition of captains Rangelova and McCall who welcomed a new era of SMU swimming and diving by congratulating 2014-15 team captains Nicol, Parmenter and Schauwecker.



Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.