Women's Swimming

Swim Teams Leading C-USA Championships Heading Into Final Day Of Competition

Go smu! Therese Svendsen
Go smu!
Therese Svendsen
Go smu!

Feb. 17, 2012

C-USA Championship Scores & Results - Day 3 Get Acrobat Reader

HOUSTON (SMU) - SMU swim captain Therese Svendsen posted her second automatic qualifying time in the 100-yard backstroke this season as she won the event in a time of 52.31 at the Conference USA Championships Friday night. Svendsen also posted an NCAA A standard at the Houston Invitational in November. The women claimed the top four spots in the 100-yard backstroke as senior Genny Konicke placed second (53.73, NCAA B), freshman Isabella Arcila was third (54.09, NCAA B) and freshman Eleonor Lindborg finished fourth (55.70).

The SMU swimming and diving teams lead the Conference USA Championships after the third day of competition. The women have 550 points and the men have 681 through 28 events.

The women opened the night by winning the 200-yard freestyle relay as Nina Rangelova, Konicke, Monika Babok and Arcila swam the event in 1:29.26, an NCAA B qualifying time.

Sophomore standout Rangelova turned in a dominating performance in the 200-yard freestyle as she won the event in an NCAA B time of 1:44.62, nearly four seconds ahead of her nearest competitor.

The Mustangs swept the medal stand in the 100-yard breaststroke, recording three NCAA B standard times in the process. Freshman Rachel Nicol won the event, touching the wall in 1:01.05. Fellow newcomer Erica Donadon placed second with a time of 1:01.33 and senior Raminta Dvariskyte was third, clocking in with a time of 1:01.42.

SMU had a strong showing in the 100-yard butterfly as well with Konicke winning the event and posting an NCAA B time of 52.12. Sophomore Denisa Smolenova earned runner-up honors with an NCAA B standard of 52.91, while sophomore Monika Babok was fifth (55.54).

Freshman diver Sky Corbett-Methot picked up her second bronze of the championship as she placed third in the one-meter dive with 272.15 points.

The men also nabbed a first place finish in the 200-yard freestyle relay with Mindaugas Sadauskas, David Larsson, Nicolai Hansen and Ryan Koops recording an NCAA B qualifying time of 1:19.19.

Freshman diver Devin Burnett picked up his second win of the championship as he earned top honors in the three-meter dive with a score of 384.95. Fellow freshman Hayden Hodges placed second with 354.00 points.

The men swept the top three spots in the 200-yard freestyle with three NCAA B qualifying times. Sophomore Matt Roney won the event in 1:36.88. Sophomore Nicolai Hansen was second (1:37.15) and senior Blaz Korosec finished third (1:37.84).

The Mustangs picked up important points from Larsson (second, 100-yard butterfly, NCAA B 47.31), sophomore Julian Fletcher (third, 100-yard breaststroke, NCAA B 54.44) and Sadauskas (third, 100-yard backstroke, 48.78)

SMU closes out competition at the C-USA Championships tomorrow. Live results can be found here.



Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.