Women's Swimming

SMU Women's Swimming Team Finished Third In C-USA Championship

Go smu!
Go smu!

Go smu!

Feb. 23, 2013

C-USA Championship Complete Results

C-USA Championship Final Scores

HOUSTON (SMU) - On the final day of competition the SMU men's swimming and diving team finished first with 967 points and the women's team finished third with a score of 664.50.

The men's swimmer of the meet was Mindaugas Sadauskas, Devin Burnett won men's diver of the meet, Eddie Sinnott earned co-men's swimming coach of the year, and men's diving coach of the year is Jim Stillson. Isabella Arcila was named swimmer of the meet, marking the fourth consecutive season that an SMU swimmer has won the award. She also became the seventh Mustang in eight years to win the meet's top swimming recognition.

Freshmen Eastman Holloway finished fifth in the 1650-yard freestyle with a time of 15:51.48.Sophomore Gabo Andonie earned a final time of 15:58.38 for a sixth place finish.

Sophomore sensation Devin Burnett finished first in platform diving with a final score of 387.90.

Matas Andriekus finished third in the 200-yard backstroke at 1:45.51, Eduardo Santana finished fifth at 1:47.28, and Braeden Newton placed eighth with a final time of 1:53.85.

Mindaugas Sadauskas set the meet record in the 100-yard freestyle at 42.77, David Larsson finished second at 43.78, junior Ryan Koops placed third at 43.94, Matt Roney came in fourth at 44.46, and Ramom Melo finished sixth with a final time of 44.77.

Nicolai Hansen earned first place in the 200-yard breaststroke clocking in at 1:57.60; Julian Fletcher finished fifth at 2:01.14.

Tyler Rauth came in fourth in the 200-yard butterfly at 1:47.91 and Mike Smith finished sixth at 1:51.02.

The 400-yard freestyle relay team that consisted of: David Larsson, Ryan Koops, Nicolai Hansen, and Mindaugas Sadauskas set a meet and school record with a final time of 2:53.17.

In the women's 1650-yard freestyle Rebecka Ekelund finished tenth at 17:03.53 and Alice McCall came in eleventh at 17:04.95.

Isabella Arcila earned first in the 200-yard backstroke with a final time of 1:55.86, Deanna Matthews placed second at 1:57.54, and Anna Volchkov came in third at 1:58.75.

Sophomore Nathalie Lindborg earned gold in the 100-yard freestyle with a final time of 49.14, Nina Rangelova finished second at 49.15, and Monika Babok came in fourth with a time of 49.76.

In the 200-yard breaststroke, Rachel Nicol finished first at 2:11.09 and Erica Donadon came in fourth at 2:16.07.

Danielle Villars placed third in the 200-yard butterfly at 1:59.47.

The 400-yard freestyle relay team finished first with a time of 3:18.62. The team consisted of: Isabella Arcila, Emily Vavourakis, Monika Babok, and Nina Rangelova.



Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.