Mustangs Edge Houston, 155-143

Go smu! Nina Rangelova
Go smu!
Nina Rangelova
Go smu!

Jan. 21, 2012

Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

HOUSTON (SMU) - The SMU women's swimming and diving team edged Conference USA rival Houston, 155-143, on Saturday afternoon. With the win, the Mustangs are now 4-1 in dual meets this year.

Sophomore standout Nina Rangelova won three individual events on the day. The freestyle specialist placed first in the 100- and 500-yard freestyles, clocking in with times of 51.85 and 5:03.22, respectively. She took top honors in the 200-yard butterfly, touching the wall in 2:07.00. Rangelova also swam the final leg of the winning 400-yard medley relay team, as the Mustangs had a time of 3:46.79.

SMU swept the 200-yard backstroke as senior Therese Svendsen won the event with a time of 2:00.65. Freshmen Isabella Arcila came in second (2:02.30) and Eleonor Linborg was third (2:05.35).

Svendsen also took runner-up honors in both the 200-yard freestyle, swimming the event in 1:51.61, and the 100-yard butterfly, with a time of 57.43.

Additionally, Arcila played a big role on the Mustang relay teams as she opened for the winning 200-yard freestyle relay (1:35.33) and was the final leg of the second-place 400-yard medley relay (3:48.88).

Freshman Erica Donadon placed first in the 200-yard breaststroke, clocking in at 2:17.48. The Mustangs received top performances by seniors Raminta Dvariskyte and Denisa Smolenova, who won the 100-yard breaststroke (1:05.95) and 100-yard butterfly (55.92), respectively.

Freshman diver Sky Corbett-Methot came in second in the one-meter dive with a score of 258.75 and was third in the three-meter dive, collecting 270.90 points.

SMU also picked up important points with second-place finishes by sophomore Deanna Matthews (100-yard backstroke, 59.20), sophomore Monika Babok (50-yard freestyle, 24.49), freshman Rachel Nicol (200-yard breaststroke, 2:18.91).

SMU competes at cross-town rival TCU in a dual meet on Wednesday at 6 p.m. It is the first dual meet between the two schools since Oct. 23, 2002.