Women's Basketball

SMU Basketball Tip-Off Luncheon Set For Oct. 30

Go smu!
Go smu!

Go smu!

Oct. 3, 2013

DALLAS (SMU) --- The 2013 SMU Basketball Tip-Off Luncheon is set for Oct. 30 at 12 p.m. The event will be held on the SMU campus in the Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom of the Umphrey Lee Center. SMU men's basketball coach Larry Brown and women's basketball coach Rhonda Rompola will be the featured guests at the luncheon as they prepare for the Mustangs' inaugural season in the American Athletic Conference. 

Mustang fans can sponsor a table for $750, which includes nine tickets and a seat for a coach or student-athlete. Individual tickets are available for $75. To purchase tickets, click here.

The Mustangs play the first games in the renovated Moody Coliseum on Saturday, Jan. 4. The doubleheader begins with the men hosting Connecticut at 1 p.m., followed by the women facing South Florida at 3:30 p.m. The $47 million renovation and expansion of Moody Coliseum will be completed in December, so the Mustangs can host all conference games on campus. The renovated Moody Coliseum will provide many new and improved features, including a renovated main entry lobby, expanded concourses with raised ceilings, club seats, loge boxes, private suites, group suites, new event space, offices, team locker rooms and meeting space. 

For season ticket information call 214-SMU-GAME (214-768-4263) or visit SMUMustangs.com

SMU men's basketball returns all five starters while adding the No. 14 ranked recruiting class and three transfers who sat out last season. The Mustangs return Cannen Cunningham, Jalen Jones, Ryan Manuel, Nick Russell, and Shawn Williams after the group started the entire 2012-13 season. They are joined by transfers Nic Moore (from Illinois State), Markus Kennedy (from Villanova) and Crandall Head (from Illinois). The recruiting class includes McDonald's All-American Keith Frazier, one of the nation's top junior college prospects in Yanick Moreira, and a pair of Illinois' Mr. Basketball finalists from the Chicago area in Sterling Brown and Ben Moore. The Mustangs also return Kevin Dunleavy and add newcomers Jean-Micheal Mudiay and Jonathan Wilfong



SMU women's basketball returns four starters from the 2012-13 team, which won the program's third regular-season conference championship. The Mustangs advanced to the WNIT and finished with a 21-10 overall record. Keena Mays was named conference Player of the Year, averaging 18.4 points per game in her first season on the Hilltop. Akil Simpson returns after earning her second all-conference award. Kiara Perry joins the team after winning back-to-back state championships at Duncanville. This season, the Mustangs will host both national champion Connecticut and runner-up Louisville in Moody Coliseum, and will play two nationally-televised contests.

Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.