Swim Teams Lead After First Day Of Houston Invitational

Go smu!
Go smu!

Go smu!

Nov. 17, 2011

HOUSTON (SMU) - The SMU men's and women's swimming and diving teams are both in first place after day one of the Houston Invitational. The teams combined to post seven NCAA B qualifying times.

Sophomore Nina Rangelova took top honors in the 500-yard freestyle, besting the field by more than eight seconds with an NCAA B time of 4:44.71.

All-America and team captain Therese Svendsen won 200-yard individual medley, touching the wall in 1:59.51, an NCAA B qualifying time.

Freshman Isabella Arcila earned runner-up honors in the 50-yard freestyle (22.87, NCAA B time), while senior Genny Konicke finished third (23.12).

The Mustangs earned huge points with strong performances in the relays. Arcila, Konicke, Emily Vavourakis and Rangelova won 200-yard freestyle relay (1:30.91, NCAA B time), while Eleonor Lindborg, Erica Donadon, Denisa Smolenova and Svendsen took third (1:33.30). In the 400-yard medly relay, Svendsen, Donadon, Smolenova and Rangelova led SMU to victory with a time of 3:37.15. The team of Arcila, Rachel Nicol, Konicke and Vavourakis came in second, clocking in at 3:42.13. Both medley relays recorded NCAA B qualifying times.

For the men, juniors Mindaugas Sadauskas and David Larsson finished first (20.32) and second (20.45), respectively, in the 50-yard freestyle.

Newcomer Devin Burnett took top honors in the one-meter dive with a score of 317.20.



Senior Blaz Korosec took second in the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 4:34.33. Freshman Gabriel Andonie finished third, touching the wall in 4:35.29.

The men also earned important points in the relays. SMU took first and second the 400-yard medley relay; Sadauskas, Matthew Napier-Jameson, Larsson and Nicolai Hansen clocked in with a time of 3:23.09, while Ryan Koops, Julian Fletcher, Matt Roney and Korosec finished in 3:24.70. The Mustangs also won the 200-yard freestyle relay as Larsson, Hansen, Sadauskas and Koops posted an NCAA B-qualifying time of 1:21.34.

The teams resume competition tomorrow.