Men's Swimming

Jim Stillson
Jim  Stillson

Head Diving Coach


Julian Fletcher Competes At Mesa Arena Grand Prix

The Grand Prix Concluded The 2013-14 Season For SMU


Mustang Swimmers & Divers Set to Compete in Final Meets Prior to NCAA's


Eleven Mustangs Earn All-American Athletic Conference Honors

Three Divers, Four Relay Teams And Two Swimmers Garner The Accolade


SMU Finishes Second At The Inaugural American Athletic Conference Championship

Burnett Captures His Third Individual Crown on Final Day of AAC Championship


Mustangs Place Sixth At 30th Annual Classic at SMU

Junior Diver Devin Burnett Named Most Valuable Diver of the Meet

Email Coach Stillson

Jim Stillson is in his 31st yearas head coach of the SMU men's and women's diving teams. Under Stillson, divers have earned 87 All-America honors and the men's and women's teams have won 31 combined conference championships. Stillson has also coached four Olympians. The 2013-14 season saw Stillson coach junior Devin Burnett to a sweep of the American Athletic Conference title in all three diving events which led Burnett to be named the AAC's 2014 Most Outstanding Diver. For his efforts as well as the other Mustang divers, Stillson was named The Americans 2014 Men's Diving Coach of the Year.

In his 30 years at SMU, Stillson has coached four Olympians including 1992 silver medalist Scott Donie. Since 1970, Stillson has guided student-athlete divers to 87 All-American honors, including three NCAA Diver of the Year award winners. Stillson has coached four NCAA champions in seven different events, and since 1974, 10 U.S. National Champions have been crowned champion under the tutelage of Stillson.

In 1989, Stillson was named the NCAA Men's Diving Coach of the Year and in 1990 and 1995, the NCAA Women's Diving Coach of the Year. On the conference level, he has earned 15 conference diving coach of the year honors while at SMU. Stillson served as one of the U.S. Diving National Team coaches from 1987-91 and again in 1997. His successful coaching ability in 1999 earned him that year's United States Olympic Committee Diving Coach of the Year award.

Stillson's success with SMU student-athletes has been overly apparent in the individual success of his divers. Besides the 87 All-Americans under Stillson's direction, SMU divers have earned 44 conference individual championships, numerous conference Diver of the Year awards, 10 U.S. national champions and four NCAA champions.

In 1992, Stillson received the Mike Malone Memorial Award, given for outstanding contributions to diving by the national governing body of the sport, U.S. Diving. Stillson has coached the U.S. National Diving Team in competition in Europe, Australia, China and the Soviet Union. In addition, he was selected as a team leader for the USA Diving team at the 2007 Pan American Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

He is a member of the NCAA Diving committee.

Stillson was born in Aberdeen, Md. and attended Campbell High (Calif.) where he was a high school All-American diver. A 1974 graduate of Ohio State, Stillson earned NCAA All-American honors his senior year in the three-meter competition. Stillson has four very important ladies in his life, his daughters, Katy, Chanelle and Mariah, and wife, Elisabeth.

16 Men's Conference Team Championships
WAC (4): 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, NIC (5); 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, C-USA (7): 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013

45 Men's Diving All-Americans
Zeke Crowley, 1984-85-86(2)-88(3), Art Conley, 1986, Eric Murff, 1987(2)-88(2), Scott Donie, 1987(2)-88(3)-89(3)-90(3), Sean Briscombe, 1990(3)-91(2), Kevin Willis, 1990(2)-91(2), Tony Iglesias, 1991-92(2)-93(2)-94(3), Ali Al-Hasan, 1997(2), Phillip Griffin 2004-06

3 Olympians
Scott Donie (1992-96), Tony Iglesias (1996), Ali Al-Hasan (1996)

Mustang Locker Room
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.