Padron Named To Manning Award Watch List

Go smu! Padron Named To Manning Award Watch List
Go smu!
Padron Named To Manning Award Watch List
Go smu!

Aug. 15, 2011

DALLAS (SMU) - SMU junior Kyle Padron has been named to the Watch List for the 2011 Manning Award Watch List, the Allstate Sugar Bowl announced today.

Padron, from Southlake, started all 14 games last season and was named All-Conference USA honorable mention in 2010. He notched SMU records in passing yards (3,828), total yards (4,072), touchdowns (31), completions (302) and attempts (508) and passed for over 300 yards on six occasions.

This continues a string of Mustangs on pre-season award lists. Padron was also named to the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List. Kelvin Beachum, Ja'Gared Davis, Zach Line and Taylor Thompson were named preseason All-Conference USA. Beachum, Davis, Thompson and Taylor Reed were named to the Official Watch List for the 2011 Rotary Lombardi Award. Beachum has been named to the Outland List, Thompson has made the Nagurski Award List, Cole Beasley and Darius Johnson were named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, Line was named to the Watch List for the Maxwell and Doak Walker Awards, Thompson And Margus Hunt were selected to the Pony Express Award Watch List and Blake McJunkin was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List.

For season tickets for SMU Football, log on to Season ticket packages start as low as $72.

The preseason Watch List recognizes 31 of the top quarterbacks in the nation based on previous collegiate performance, however, every quarterback in the nation remains eligible for the honor. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Monday, Nov. 28. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 18.



The Manning Award will be recognizing its eighth winner this year. Quarterbacks from all 120 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 24. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21. The 2011 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8.

2011 Manning Award Watch List
Matt Barkley, JR, USC
Tyler Bray, SO, Tennessee
Alex Carder, JR, Western Michigan
Zach Collaros, SR, Cincinnati
Kirk Cousins, SR, Michigan State
Austin Davis, SR, Southern Miss
Dominique Davis, SR, East Carolina
Nick Foles, JR, Arizona
Robert Griffin III, JR, Baylor
Chandler Harnish, SR, Northern Illinois
Landry Jones, JR, Oklahoma
Case Keenum, SR, Houston
G.J. Kinne, JR, Tulsa
Ryan Lindley, SR, San Diego State
Andrew Luck, JR, Stanford
Taylor Martinez, SO, Nebraska
Bryant Moniz, SR, Hawaii
Kellen Moore, SR, Boise State
Aaron Murray, SO, Georgia
Danny O'Brien, SO, Maryland
Kyle Padron, JR, SMU
Dan Persa, SR, Northwestern
Chris Relf, SR, Mississippi State
Corey Robinson, SO, Troy
Denard Robinson, JR, Michigan
Geno Smith, JR, West Virginia
Tino Sunseri, JR, Pittsburgh
Ryan Tannehill, SR, Texas A&M
Darren Thomas, JR, Oregon
Brandon Weeden, SR, Oklahoma State
Jordan Wynn, JR, Utah
Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.