Joseph Named To Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Go smu! Darius Joseph
Go smu!
Darius Joseph
Go smu!

July 15, 2014

DALLAS (SMU/TQC) - SMU wide receiver Darius Joseph has been named to the 2014 Biletnikoff Award Watch List, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., announced today. The award is given annually to the most outstanding receiver in college football.

The junior-to-be ranked second at SMU and 10th nationally with 103 catches in 2013, totaling 808 yards and five touchdowns. Joseph caught a career-high 12 passes against both Montana State and Cincinnati last season, placing him 11th on the all-time single-game list in program history.

SMU has now had a player on the Watch List for six consecutive seasons. Jeremy Johnson was a mid-season addition in 2013, while Darius Johnson (2011 and 2012), Cole Beasley (2011) and Aldrick Robinson (2009 and 2010) have all represented the Mustangs. Robinson was named a semifinalist for the award in 2010.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 17, 2014, following the vote by the 221 members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 24. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and timely and important news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, as well as a fan vote and discussion board, please consult the Foundation website at



The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-American receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The TQC created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Seventeen college receivers have won the award, including Randy Moss, Calvin Johnson, Michael Crabtree, Larry Fitzgerald and last season's recipient, Brandin Cooks.

The full Watch List can be found here.

SMU will host Texas A&M, TCU, Cincinnati, Memphis, USF and Houston this season, and tickets are going fast, including 1,500 new season tickets sold. For more information on football tickets and the new Red & Blue mini-plans, call the SMU Ticket Office at 214-768-4263.

Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.