Loftus Named To Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List

Go smu!
Loftus Named To Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List

Go smu!
Loftus Named To Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List
Go smu!

July 10, 2013

AUGUSTA, Ga. (SMU) - SMU junior Mike Loftus is one of 25 players on the Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List, the Augusta Sports Council announced today.

The Ray Guy Award is given annually to the nation's top collegiate punter. The award is named after the former Southern Mississippi and Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders punter who made seven Pro Bowls and won three Super Bowls.

Loftus earned honorable mention All-Conference USA honors a season ago, averaging 41.9 yards per punt with a season-long boot of 62 yards at UTEP. He also had nine punts of 50 or more yards and had 12 fall within the opponent's 20-yard line.

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on Oct. 25. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semi-finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 8. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on Nov. 25. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation's top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 12, 2013.

2013 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List
Steven Clark (Sr.), Auburn
Pat O'Donnell (Gr.), Miami (Fl.)
Darragh O'Neill (Jr.), Colorado
Will Monday (So.), Duke
Trent Tignor (Sr.), East Carolina
Kyle Christy (Jr.), Florida
Richie Leone (Sr.), Houston
Justin Duvernois (Jr.), Illionois
Kirby Van Der Kamp (Jr.), Iowa State
Anthony Melchiori (So.), Kent State
Landon Foster (So.), Kentucky
Tyler Williams (So.), Marshall
Colter Johnson (Sr.), Massachusetts
Tom Hornsey (Sr.), Memphis
Mike Sadler (Jr.), Michigan State
Ben Skaer (Sr.), New Mexico
Cayle Chapman-Brown (Sr.), New Mexico State
Thomas Hibbard (Jr.), North Carolina
Keith Kostol (Jr.), Oregon State
Cody Webster (Sr.), Purdue
Harrison Waid (Sr.), San Jose State
Mike Loftus (Jr.), SMU
Ethan Perry (So.), TCU
Hunter Mullins (Jr.), UAB
Michael Bowlin (Sr.), Washington State



Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.