Hall of Fame

SMU Announces 2014 Athletics Hall Of Fame Class

Go smu!
Go smu!

Go smu!

March 10, 2014

Photo Gallery

DALLAS (SMU) - SMU and SMU Athletics, in conjunction with the SMU Lettermen's Association, has announced the newest class of the SMU Athletics Hall of Fame. The 2014 inductees - Harvey Armstrong, Keith Connor, Florence Ezeh, Christine Loock, Ted McLaughlin, and the late Logan Stollenwerck - will be honored at a dinner and induction ceremony on Friday, May 2, at the Hilton Anatole.

A brief listing of the class and their accomplishments:

Harvey Armstrong was a defensive lineman at SMU from 1978-1981, earning all-SWC recognition during his junior and senior seasons. Armstrong was a co-captain and a key player on a Mustang squad that won the SWC title in 1981. For his efforts, Armstrong was named to the American Football Coaches Association All-American team in 1981. Armstrong was drafted in the seventh round of the 1982 NFL Draft by the Philadelphia Eagles, and played eight seasons in the NFL, first with the Eagles and later with the Indianapolis Colts.

Keith Connor was a standout on SMU's men's track and field squads from 1981-83, leading SMU to win the 1983 NCAA Indoor and Outdoor Championships. Connor was a three-time All-American in the triple jump, and was also named an All-American in the long jump in 1981. He won four individual national championships and six conference titles in the triple jump. In 1982, Connor won two gold medals in the triple jump at the Commonwealth Games and the European Championships. He won a silver medal at the 1978 European Indoor Championships, and took the bronze in the 1984 Olympic Games, both in the triple jump.

Florence Ezeh won four NCAA titles as a member of the SMU women's track and field program from 1998-2001, earning the distinction of being the first woman to win three-consecutive outdoor hammer throw NCAA Championships. Ezeh also took the 2001 indoor title in the same event. The six-time All-American broke NCAA records for both the hammer and weight throw. Ezeh also took first in the hammer throw at the European U23 Championships in 1999 and in the 2001 Mediterranean Games, during which she represented France. The Lomé, Togo native also represented her home nation from 2005-11, taking second place in the hammer throw at the 2007 All-Africa Games and at the 2008 African Championships.

Dr. Christine Loock was a member of the Mustangs' swimming and diving program from 1975-78, and was the first woman to earn a varsity letter in the sport at SMU. Loock was a five-time US National Diving Champion; she won the 1-meter in 1974, the 3-meter in 1974 and 1977, and the 10-meter in 1977 and 1980. She also won a bronze medal in the 3-meter at the World Championships in 1975. The 1976 All-American was previously honored by the SMU Lettermen's Association with the Silver Anniversary Mustang Award in 2004, and was presented with SMU's Distinguished Alumni Award in 1996 for her outstanding contributions to the medical community as a developmental pediatrician.

Ted McLaughlin was the men's track and field coach at SMU from 1980-88, leading the Mustangs to three NCAA Championships. His team took both the indoor and outdoor titles in 1983 and the outdoor championship in 1986. During his tenure at SMU, he coached 23 individual national champions and three Olympic medalists. McLaughlin was named to the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 2006.

Logan Stollenwerck was a halfback and a quarterback at SMU from 1922-24, leading SMU to the 1923 SWC Championships and an unblemished 9-0 record while outscoring opponents 207-9 during the season. Stollenwerck was named to the All-Southwest Conference team for his performance as a halfback in 1922, and garnered All-Conference honors as a quarterback in 1923 and 1924. Overall, SMU went 20-4-5 during his career. He was also named an Honorable Mention All-American selection by Time Magazine.

The dinner and induction ceremony will take place on Friday, May 2, at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas at 7 p.m. Tickets are available for $200 and tables of 10 are available for $1,500. To purchase, call (214) 768-4314, contact the SMU Lettermen's Association at (214) 768-4000, or visit www.smu.edu/halloffame.



Official Store
In alignment with the educational mission of the University, we engage the community in meaningful ways and develop the resources necessary to graduate Student-Leaders and pursue championships. Above all else, we prepare Students for life.